Mercedes in Hungarian GP: standing order was not an issue / Formula 1

Mercedes duo Lewis Hamilton and George Russell have been allowed to freely race one another in the newest Formula 1 race on the Hungaroring. The standing order was not up for dialogue.


The final Formula 1 showdown earlier than the summer season break on the Hungaroring gave followers an thrilling race with many duels and overtaking maneuvers. The two Silver Arrows drivers Lewis Hamilton and George Russell additionally met on the thirteenth spherical of the season and the Mercedes workforce determined not to resolve place by standing order from the pit wall.

Instead, the seven-time champion and his compatriot from Great Britain have been free to battle one another, as Toto Wolff confirmed after the checkered flag fell. The Mercedes motorsport director additionally insisted that clarifying the place of the 2 drivers on the pit wall was not an issue.

“We have not mentioned a secure order,” the Viennese instructed colleagues on the Austrian TV station “ORF”. “When the 2 race, they battle too. They are good sufficient to know what they’re doing,” says the 50-year-old head of the Mercedes manufacturing facility workforce.

Wolff explains the truth that Mercedes was capable of considerably enhance its efficiency throughout the weekend in Hungary and switch the tide after a mediocre efficiency on Friday: “The automobile was so dangerous on Friday that we mentioned to one another: ‘OK, let’s do the alternative now.’ And it was extra out of frustration that we ended up in precisely the proper window with the set-up.”

Hungarian GP, ​​HungaryRing

01. Max Verstappen (NL), Red Bull Racing, 1:39:36.533 hrs
02. Lewis Hamilton (GB), Mercedes, +7.834s
03. George Russell (GB), Mercedes, +12.337
04. Carlos Sainz (E), Ferrari, +14.579
05. Sergio Perez (MEX), Red Bull Racing, +15.688
06. Charles Leclerc (MC), Ferrari, +16.047
07. Lando Norris (GB), McLaren, +1:18.300 min
08. Fernando Alonso (E), Alpine, +1 lap
09. Esteban Ocon (F), Alpine, +1 lap
10. Sebastian Vettel (D), Aston Martin, +1 lap
11. Lance Stroll (CDN), Aston Martin, +1 lap
12. Pierre Gasly (F), Alpha Tauri, +1 lap
13. Guanyu Zhou (RC), Alfa Romeo, +1 lap
14. Mick Schumacher (D), Haas, +1 lap
15. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS), McLaren, +1 lap
16. Kevin Magnussen (DK), Haas, +1 lap
17. Alexander Albon (T), Williams, +1 lap
18. Nicholas Latifi (CDN), Williams, +1 lap
19. Yuki Tsunoda (J), Alpha Tauri, +2 laps
Valtteri Bottas (FIN), Alfa Romeo, Engine

Championship standings (after 13 of twenty-two races)

the motive force
01. Verstappen 258 factors
02. Leclerc 178
03. Perez 173
04.Russell 158
05. Saenz 156
06.Hamilton 146
07. Norris 76
08. Okon 58
09. Bottana 46
10. Alonso 41
11. Magnussen 22
12. Ricciardo 19
13. Gasly 16
14. The Hague 16
15. Schumacher 12
16. Tsunoda 11
17. Zhou 5
18. Stroll 4
19. Albon 3
20. Latifi 0
21. Nico Hulkenberg (D) 0

Constructor’s Trophy
01. Red Bull Racing 431 factors
02.Ferrari 334
03.Mercedes 304
04. Alpine 99
05. McLaren 95
06. Alfa Romeo 51
07. Haas 34
08. Alfatouri 27
09. Aston Martin 20
10. Williams 3


Leave a Comment